CIOT and ATT North East England Branch

27 Apr 2021

Welcome to the North East England Branch of the Chartered Institute of Taxation and Association of Taxation Technicians.

Welcome from your Branch Chair, Alice Clewes

I am very pleased to have formally taken over as Chair of the North East England branch following our Annual Branch Meeting on 23 September 2021 during which our outgoing Chair Mitch Johnson gave his Chair’s Report.  The Report providing a summary of the past year can be viewed here.

The North East England Branch is a well supported part of the CIOT/ATT Branch Network primarily based in Newcastle upon Tyne which provides a range of events for our local tax community, with attendance by members and non-members welcomed.   

Our education programme of events run from September to the following June each year and we aim to cover a broad mix of content with excellent quality speakers so that there will be something on the programme that appeals to everyone.  We want to make sure we cover the topics you want so please do get in touch with your ideas.  We normally hold our events at the St James’s Park Conference Centre, and we are hoping that we will be able to return there for face-to-face events in 2022 as it does provide a good opportunity for networking with fellow professionals.  In the meantime, we will continue to liaise with head office in relation to providing the online webinar programme.  

We also usually hold social events during the year which provide further opportunities for networking and again we hope to be able to return to arranging these in 2022.  

If you would like to know more about our events or you would like to get involved and join our committee, please contact me at


Branch Committee 

Alice Clewes
Branch Chair 

David Bradshaw
Branch Secretary

Tina Jones
Branch Treasurer

Graeme Brough
Branch Committee 

Sara James
Branch Committee 

Mitch Johnson
Branch Committee

Joseph Sample
Branch Committee 

Thomas Young
Branch Committee

Sarah Smart
Branch Committee

Michelle Banji
Branch Committee

Andrew Smith
Branch Committee