Media and politics

By John Cullinane, Tax Policy Director – Chartered Institute of Taxation

A copy of this article first appeared in the 'Thunderer' column of the Scottish edition of The Times newspaper (and online) on Friday 14 July 2017. 

The Government has announced that the Summer Finance Bill will not be published until after the summer recess (which means September 5th at the earliest). However it has provided some information about the content of the Bill and when measures will take effect.

All the chairmanships of House of Commons select committees for the new Parliament have been made, following a secret ballot.

The Taylor Review was published this week, which considered the implications of new forms of work on worker rights and responsibilities, as well as on employer freedoms and obligations. 

The new minister for tax has praised the CIOT as a ‘huge reservoir of creativity, talent, knowledge and experience’.

Peers have started to debate the Financial Guidance and Claims Bill, during its second reading in the Lords.

The Queen's Speech has been approved by Parliament after some detailed and impassioned debates, which often touched on tax.

This year’s Queen’s Speech introduces a two-year programme, dominated by Brexit. It contains 27 Bills and draft Bills. 

In his lecture at the RSA, former Tax Director of the OTS John Whiting CBE told an audience that although tax simplification comes at a price, the dividend for taxpayers and HMRC in the long run makes it well worth pursuing. Whiting had held the role at OTS since it was established in 2010 until stepping down in March and is currently a non-executive director of HMRC and Revenue Scotland. He was introduced to the audience by CIOT President John Preston, and Helen Miller of the IFS chaired this latest joint CIOT/IFS event.

The five main Northern Ireland parties have all now published their manifestos. Recurring big themes in the manifestos are Brexit, welfare and corporation tax. There are 18 Parliamentary constituencies in Northern Ireland. The DUP has the most MPs in the House of Commons in the last session, followed by Sinn Fein (which does not attend) and SDLP.