Professional Standards Committee

  • Tracy Easman - Chair
  • Alistair Cliff - Vice Chair

Committee members are:

  • Gary Ashford
  • Rosemary Blundell
  • Ruth Cook
  • Matt Coward
  • Abigail Day
  • Karen Eckstein
  • Andrew Evans
  • Susanna Hanks
  • Ian Hayes
  • Jean Jesty
  • Lisa Macpherson
  • Ray McCann
  • Colin Murell
  • Amanda Pearson
  • Tina Riches
  • Ilana Rinkoff
  • John Roberts
  • David Stedman
  • Anthony Thomas
  • Richard Todd
  • Rosalind Upton
  • John Whiting
  • Professional Staff
  • Charlotte Ali - Head of Professional Standards ATT
  • Heather Brehcist - Secretary to the Committee/ Head of Professional Standards CIOT

Professional Standards Sub-groups

• Professional Conduct in Relation to Taxation
• Anti-Money Laundering 
• Continuing Professional Development
• Engagement letters
• Professional Indemnity Insurance 
• Professional Rules and Practice Guidelines

Other Committees/Groups which are represented by Professional Standards

Anti-Money Laundering Supervisors' Forum (AMLSF) & Accountancy Affinity Group - The AMLSF is attended by all anti-money laundering supervisors as well as HM Treasury and the National Crime Agency. It's aim is to discuss and agree consistency and best practice for anti-money laundering supervision.The Accountancy Affinity Group is a sub-group consisting of accountancy based supervisors.

Confédération Fiscale Européenne (CFE) - The CFE was founded in 1959 and has 32 national organisations members from 24 European States. The CIOT is one of the United Kingdom representatives on the CFE (the Professional Standards representative sits on the Professional Affairs Committee). CFE's functions include safeguarding the professional interests of tax advisers,ensuring the quality of tax services provided by tax advisers and exchanging information about national tax laws in Europe.