Skip navigation |

Technical Committee

The Technical Committee has a number of working sub-committees, detailed in the Policy & Technical area. All committee members are experts in their own fields. The sub-committees are all heavily involved in consultation with Government, in public and in private, on proposed tax legislation. An important example of this is the thorough line-by-line review in the limited time while the Finance Bill is before Parliament.

Weaknesses and anomalies in legislation and drafting are identified (not infrequently by members in their practices who notify the Institute) and representations are made appropriately.

Technical Committee Membership and Staff Contacts

Bill Dodwell


Adrian Rudd


Peter Dylewski

Vice-Chairman and Vice-Chairman of VAT (& Other Indirect Taxes)

John Barnett

CGT and Investment Income Sub-Committee Chairman

Colin Ben-Nathan

Employment Taxes Sub-Committee Chairman

Nigel Clarke

Glyn Fullelove

Working Together Chairman

International Taxes Sub-Committee Chairman

Andrew Gotch

Owner Managed Business Sub-Committee Chairman

Martyn Gowar

Succession Taxes Sub-Committee Chairman

John Lindsay

Simon Newark

Jonathan Preshaw

Brian Slater

Corporate Tax Sub-Committee Chairman

VAT (& Other Indirect Taxes) Sub-Committee Chairman

Management of Taxes Chairman

Property Taxes Sub-Committee Chairman

Jeremy Woolf

EU & Human Rights Sub-Committee Chairman and CFE Fiscal Committee representative

Paul Aplin

ICAEW Tax Faculty

Charlotte Barbour

Stephen Coleclough


ExO (President) and CFE Fiscal Committee Chairman

John Cullinane

Nigel Eastaway

Paul Hill

Andrew Hubbard

Alex McDougall

Patrick Stevens

Anthony Thomas

John Whiting

Large Business Representative

Special representative for Self-Assessment

ATT Technical Steering Group Chairman



ExO (Past President)

ExO (LITRG Chairman)


Professional staff

Matthew Brown

Technical Officer (Employment Taxes & Owner Managed Business)

Margaret Curran

Maric Glaser

Technical Officer (Management of Taxes & Owner Managed Business)

Technical Officer (VAT and other indirect taxes)

Sacha Dalton

Technical Officer (Corporate, International & EU & Human Rights)

Helen Musi

Technical Team Administrator

Tina Smeaton

John Stockdale

Technical Officer (Working Together)

Technical Officer (Succession Taxes)

Robin Williamson

Kate Willis

LITRG Representative

Technical Officer (Property Taxes and CGT & Investment Income)

Click here to contact the Technical team


We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the The Chartered Institute of Taxation website. To find out more about the cookies, see our privacy policy.